top of page
  • Writer's pictureKinsey Potter

El Día de San Juan

Last night I had the opportunity to celebrate el día de San Juan! It was amazing. El día de San Juan is the longest day and the shortest night, or what we call in America the summer solstice! In Spain, people celebrate it by staying up most of the night on the beach and lighting many fires or “el fuego” with family and friends. Many native stores sell really cool things, musicians play on the streets, people drink and dance and eat corn and chorros, and children play in the sand after the sun even finally goes down! I celebrated with my new friends from the Netherlands, Holland, Austria, Texas and Zimbabwe. We spent the whole day on the beach, ate pizza at a local seaside restaurant, shopped around, and ended the night enjoying the smoke and fire right on the edge of the ocean. I also annoyed two policía (police officers) into allowing me to pet their horses and get a picture, got my hair braided locally with my friend Sofie from the Netharlands, and ate an entire pizza by myself! Oh, and my entire back is sunburnt. A great day and night!


31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page